What Are You Reading : October

Ok I am bit late with this this month, but  here goes:

The Wilding   by Maria McCann
– this was given to me a few months ago as part of a secret post club parcel, and so far it has me hooked.  I am normally not that into historical books (its set in 16720 but this one is pretty good maybe it has quite a bit to do with ordinary folk without a king or queen in sight.

Cant Stand up for sitting down by Jo Brand – This is the second of her memoirs and it concentrates on her career as a comedian.  Its a light read, in fact I read it in less than two days but it does get a bit repetitive at times.   My favourite bits are her book and recommendations (which if anybody is interested are The Ragged Trousered Philanthropisits by Robert Tressell, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, The Faber book of Repotarge edited by John Carey,  Moments of Reprieve by Primo Levi,  In the Springtime of the Year by Susan Hill,  One flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kessy , 1984 by George Orwell and finally the Children of Dynmouth by William Trevor).
My Estonia by Justin Petrone – This was given to me by the houseguests we had from Estonia in May who are old friends of my Estonian man. I am only part way through but so far it is the memoirs of an American journalist who fell in love with an Estonian girl and ended up staying there.  Light reading and quite entertaining so far.
Go and see what other folk are reading this month here:  I need Curtains for the Windows of my Head

One thought on “What Are You Reading : October

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

