Garden Planning

I have started thinking about what to plant in the garden this year and have ordered and received my seeds from The Real Seed Company and have even bought myself a new book about growing veg (Grow your own Vegetables by Joy Larkcom).  In an effort to be organised and figure out when I should sow everything I have written myself a week by week plan for my garden, this is not something I have ever done before and it will be interesting to see if things go to plan.

Oh and I seem to be failing on the post a  day so sticking with a post a week and anything else is a bonus.

Seeds

Garden Plan 2011

Jan

Buy comfrey seeds

Feb

Sow broccoli raab

March

Week 1
Buy 8 peasticks
Sow peas inside on windowsil
Week 2
Sow kolb rabi inside on windowsill
Sow rocket outside
Week 3
Sow salad onions outside
Sow turnips outside
Sow radishes outside
Week 4
Germinate beans on damp paper inside (12 to get 8 plants)
Plant out pea plants

April

Week1
Plant beans after germinating inside
Sow 6 courgette plants inside (to get 5 plants)
Sow rocket outside
Sow radishes outside
Week 2
Sow salad onions outside (2nd batch)
Sow coriander
Sow oregano if planted doesent survive winter
Sow salad outside
Week 3
Sow into modules/pots inside 4 cucumber seeds (for 2 plants)
Sow squash in small tubs 6 seeds to get 4 plants inside or in propagator
Sow chard
Sow radishes outside
Week 4
Plant out kolb rabi
Sow more kolb rabi outside (2nd batch)
Sow rocket outside


May
Week 1
Plant out courgette plants
Sow salad outside
Sow salad onions outside (2nd batch)
Sow radishes outside
Week 2
Sow coriander
Sow basil (2 types)
Sow albertos quillquina In trough near cherry plums
Week 3
Plant out squash plants
Sow rocket outside
Sow radishes Outside
Week 4
Sow salad onions outside (3rd batch)
Sow salad outside


June
Week 1
Sow more kolb rabi outside (3rd batch)
Sow radishes outside
Week 2
Sow coriander
Sow basil (2 types)
Sow rocket outside
Week 3
Maybe sow salad onions outside (4th batch)
Sow Radishes Outside
Week 4
Sow salad outside

July

Week 1
Sow rocket outside
Sow radishes outside
Week 2
Sow coriander
Week 3
Sow final batch of kolb rabi (unless planning on using cloches)
Sow radishes outside
Week 4
Sow rocket outside
Sow salad outside

August

Week 1
Sow radishes outside
Week 2
Sow turnips outside
Sow Coriander
Week 3
Sow salad outside
Sow radishes outside
Week 4


September
Week 1
Sow radishes outside


4 thoughts on “Garden Planning

Add yours

  1. I am very much a novice gardener too, for me it seems to be all about trial and error, and if something doesn't work , then do it differently next year. I find it all quite exciting, half the veg I am planning on growing this year I have never grown before, and some (the kolb rabi) I have never even tasted. I am glad that you have found my plan useful.

  2. What a brilliantly organised lady you are 🙂 I got given a great book by my mother in law about growing vegetables in a small garden so am going to have a go at growing a few more things this year 🙂 Have you had a snoop at my new blog? The old one is pretty much done now, just got a couple more posts to sort but my camera is broken 😦

  3. Well I tend to start off organised and then it all goes to pot somewhere down the line, but as this is only my second year gardening in my own garden I don't feel able to wing it quite yet. And yes I am loving your new blog, think I have even left a comment somewhere on it and glad you have finally got some batteries for your camera 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

