New words

Language development in my toddler is not how I expected it to be.  Eva said her first word ages ago (we think) but since then until about a week or two ago there had been very little new spoken language from her.  Then I went out for lunch with some friends, one of which is an experienced child-minder and hence good at deciphering toddler protolanguage and it turns out that what I just took as babbling was in fact speech.  I guess I had been expecting words to sound more of less like the words I use but no.  Currently I have identified these words that she says on a frequent basis:

Da – its her Yes

No – its not particularly clear or consistent but I think she does say it

Buzz – for the sounds that bees make but its more raspberry like

Tee – for Tree , Haven’t heard this very often these days but this was her first word

Yummy Yummy – this one is pretty clear and distinct

Baa Baa – the hours of singing Baa Baa black sheep has paid off 😉

Daddy – although not always in relation to only her dad, sometimes it can be all men which is a bit worrying ;0

Mum? – I am not sure if she does say Mum or Mummy, she probably does when I am not around but she doesn’t say it much to me.

and the new ones from the last few days that I am not completely sure about:

Dink – I think she means drink but I could have imagined it

Apple – when we where in the garden she pointed at the apple tree and said it, but I have only heard this once. My OH says he has heard her say this too though.

I have never had a particularly good ear for languages other than my own so I am finding this aspect of parenting an interesting challenge.

4 thoughts on “New words

Add yours

      1. All our kids are fab, they are all quite interesting and active little people.
        sorry it took me so long to reply Katie but I was a bit crap at the end of last year 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

