Growing a Lotus

I am a little amazed at myself. A few days ago I decided to see if I could get into the Lotus pose and I was stunned that I could and that I could hold the pose for a minute without it becoming painful for my hips and feet. I have attempted for the past few days to stay in the pose for a little bit longer each day and I am able to maintain it for over 3 minutes. It is great to be able to do something that I haven’t been able to do since I was 14 years old. It makes me feel young again (not that my 36 years make me old but it’s all relative). Even so I can remember when I was 14 and trying it, it was sore in the knees very quickly but I had no experience or knowledge of yoga. I was just attempting the pose because I had heard of it, or seen it on TV but that was all.

I have discovered that it’s true that you just can’t slouch in the Lotus pose; it’s just not possible which is probably why it has been deemed the perfect meditation posture.

I had been sitting in half lotus, although more so with my left leg up than my right for quite a while, I stated working on this when I did the yoga course 2 years ago. I had also attempted to sit in that position when doing other stuff like watching television so I guess it has all paid off.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

